top of page

Today, I challenge the Monster

 

Born and raised in Malaysia, I grew accustomed to seeing hills and blue sky every day. While breathing in fresh air and soaked in the tropical heat, I often wonder, what will it be like, to live in a metropolitan city.

Those smartly dressed people, moving swiftly among busy streets among high rise buildings, these people looked intelligent to me, living a life based on efficiency.

It was not until I moved to Hong Kong, that I realized, I would not trade a tree back home for this concrete jungle. Blocks of glass buildings, steel structures and concrete high-rise swallowed those "smart people" in the morning and spit them out at the end of the day, all weary and deflated, heading to another concrete block they called home.

Legend has it, that among this concrete jungle, lives a monster, so terrifying that he stood among the fighter bots in the blockbuster film "Transformers", inspired several other movie backdrops of Hong Kong.

Armed with my camera and a 17mm ( I need a wide range weapon, you see ), I bid my lovely furkid YingYing goodbye and headed to Quarry Bay, to hunt down this massive monster.

After walking pass several commercial buildings, a step hillside, and under a flyover bridge, I stood looking at the arched entrance that says "海山樓 & 海景樓”, 2 of the 5 massive residential blocks built back in the 70's.

No, I will not be fooled by this unconventional looking entrance, not will I fear by the little Chinese Herbal Tea stall that is located right beside it.

Walking up a few steps, passed the brief passage and here I am, standing in the small courtyard, when I turn around, I noticed I come face to face with the Monster itself, surrounded by it's "U" shape concrete blocks.

Underneath this 18 storey building, the courtyard is lined by several small shops; laundry shop, , sundry shop, a small diner and an 80's beauty parlor placed themselves among other half closed businesses. The tenants look accustomed to the "warriors" who come to shoot this Monster, not even lifting their heads to see what is going on as me and several others move quietly seeking for the best spot to take the shot.

Just like a smart city person, I left feeling stronger yet defeated, spitted out by another concrete monster.

But then again, I look forward to more challenges, until the day I travel back to my homeland, to feel the soft green grass again.

Join me on my quest here: The Monster of Quarry Bay

How to get there:

Taking the subway to Quarry Bay MTR Station [ Exit A ], turn right as soon as you walk out of the station; walk along the street for about 8 - 10 minutes, straight on across a junction leading to the Quarry Bay Market, you will see Chinese Herbal Stall and next to it, a high archway with the words "海山樓 & 海景樓" - the Monster awaits inside.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page